Whole Paycheck

Yes, yes. It’s the oldest joke in the book about Whole Foods that it should be called “Whole Paycheck”. And I don’t shop there normally because I try to support my neighborhood stores – a mom and pop shop that is a “Whole Foods Light” (SHOUT OUT FARMER JOES!!!) and I even shop at the local Safeway (I know, gross) because it’s in my hood and they sell cheap ass cat litter. But last night I had a free evening because my Wednesday workout buddy couldn’t make it and I’ll be damned if I’m working out alone having forgotten my headphones. This is the night that Michael picks up Nico from daycare so I was a free woman after work. UNREAL!!!

We needed some groceries and I decided to do something daring, exciting, dangerous.

I lie.

But I did do something slightly different which is go to Whole Foods. I set a goal to just take my time and enjoy it, like an adventure. And I kinda did.

Of course, 4 small shopping bags and $179 later, I got the GIST of that old joke.

And, as aspirational as it is to think that I could manage this…

… I did not buy the pre-chopped (and perfectly uniform) onions.

What is aspirational about it is that I fantasize that I would use them all up before they went bad. Meaning, I had planned my meal plan for the week perfectly and made several delicious dishes that involved onions. (Who likes to chop onions?). Or, that I hadn’t planned SHIT but I was just one of those people who made everything just “work”. I am not one of those people.

Currently I have 4 onions from the organic farm that delivers every two weeks. I need to get on that. It’s one thing to let an onion from Safeway go bad. From Whole Foods, a little worse. But from an organic farm that’s a 3 hour drive from your house? You better be eatin’ some onions!

On an up-note I found cornichons which no stores in my ‘hood eve carry. Okay, I get why, they’re ridiculous little pickles but I love them. So, on the whole (see what I did there?), it was a successful experiment I think.

Oh, and I bought some $1.99 Three Wishes wine. I thought it was pretty good. Michael didn’t like it so much but I bet if I told him it was $40, he would have liked it more. He even agreed that might be true (since there was a study in the Economist or something that proved this theory… of course.) Give it a try.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Whole Paycheck

  1. Nellie says:

    I am very proud of you!!

    I also love cornichons. Trader Joe’s has ’em. Lake Merritt! Go now!

Leave a Reply

